Reporting a Car Accident in New Hampshire
How Much Time Do I Have To Report A Car Accident In New Hampshire?
New Hampshire accident rules aren’t as strict as most other states, but there are specific instances that will require you to fill an accident form. When involved in an acceded where damages exceed $1,000 you must file a New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form DSMV 400) with the Division of Motor Vehicles in Concord, NH within 15 days of the accident. If someone else was driving your vehicle when the accident occurred they are responsible for filing the form, not you.
If the accident was investigated by a police officer, the operator of the vehicle involved in the accident does not need to report the crash. However, if involved in an accident where you are not able to give or receive the other party your personal information (ex: hit and run) – you must report it to the nearest police station. Failure to do so can result in a Class B Misdemeanor and up to a $1,200 fine – or more if there has been personal injury or property was damaged.
What If I Am Unable to Report the Accident Immediately?
If you are physically unable to report an accident within 15 days you must file a report as soon as possible. The laws are not clear what acceptions will grant extensions. If you are the owner of a vehicle that was involved in a crash but you were not driving and an accident form was not filled out you must report the incident upon learning about it.
Do I Need to Let My Insurance Company Know About an Accident?
New Hampshire does not require residents to report accidents to an insurance company. However, most (if not all) insurance contracts require you to notify them of an accident within a “reasonable amount of time” which should be interpreted as a day or two. Failure to do so can result in a breach of contract and the insurer may deny coverage.
What information Will I Need From the Other Parties Involved
You should get the following information
- Names, addresses, telephone numbers – if there are witnesses we recommend getting this information from them too.
- Driver’s license numbers
- License plate numbers
- Vehicle Description
- Insurance information
We recommend writing down the address and weather conditions at the time of the accident.